PDA

View Full Version : Hanon Exercise for Absolute beginner

jcg
07-02-2006, 02:46 AM
Hi,

I am an absolute beginner in piano. I will start my piano lessons in two weeks but I have with my a book of Hanon exercises. As I was reading for tips, I came across this forum and found out that Hanon exercises are very useful..

My quesion is can I start doing Hanon exercises even if I am only a beginner?

I appreciate any input that you can provide..

have a good day!

silent-storm
07-02-2006, 07:57 AM
sure, why not. Although, if you are a complete beginner, you may encounter the problem of not knowing whether you are actually playing it properly. This is where the teacher will come in handy. There's only so much advice you can give a complete beginner over the internet, without seeing you play it. Just try and relax all your muscles, keep your fingers arched and follow the fingering.

Your_enigma
07-06-2006, 03:47 AM
That's the thing with Hanon, you are sure to get a mixed bag of opinions from most piano communities. Some say that Hanon is an over-rated series with its technical promises lacking any real foundation. Others swear their technique by them. I personally used them for a few months. They are very effective for beginners to gain finger accuracy, uniformity of scales, and stretching. But it has also been noted that there are things about hanon that can eventually be detrimental to developing technique.

However, you really don't need to worry about that at your level. Start with the first twenty and then follow your teacher's instruction.

jcg
07-06-2006, 07:49 AM
Hi, thanks for the replies! :)

I've actually started it and i'm now in the 7th exercise. hehe

I feel challenged everytime I start a new exercise. At first, there's always a lot of mistakes. But after doing it slowly and increasing the tempo gradually, it's like my fingers are moving by themselves! its a great feeling and i know its gonna be even better if it is an actual song..