PDA

View Full Version : What to do?

ekkg
05-11-2006, 03:41 PM
Hi,

I'm a really late bloomer with regards to guitar, I'm 43, two years ago my teenager got the bug and I pulled out my old acoustic for her. Well, she really never took to it like she thought she would, but I started picking it up more and more. It was a real beast, an old 1972 Kasuga acoustic based on the Martin design, very high action, poor kid she never had a chance. Anyway, I have a friend who has been playing since he was 7 and he is 53 now. I started practicing with him and realized that I had so much more discipline now that I was able to really focus on learning to play. I soon realized that I needed a better guitar, so I picked up a Tacoma DM9 and was amazed at how much my playing improved in a short period of time. (Even my daughter has a renewed interest, since this guitar is so much easier to play). Well, me and my friend started practicing on a regular basis and one of his other friends came by one evening, heard what was going on and invited us to start coming by his place to play. He has everything there, PA system, drums, bass, numerous guitars, etc.. So our practices started being at his house on Thursdays, he brought in a bass player and another guitarist. Including the friend I started out with, each one of these guys has 20+ years of experience, they all started out very young. Now the guy that owns of the equipment is talking gigs and the focus of our practices has become gigs. When we first started out, they were very gracious with regards to me, the fact is, on some songs I can get the rhythm on others I just don't, I try, but sometimes I just can't keep up. So we focused on the stuff they knew I could do, well, I know that can be boring sometimes, so when they did stuff I couldn't I just sat back and enjoyed the show. So it's come to a point where 3/4 of what is done at practice I can't keep up with, I have been able to insert myself into some of it, but even when I think I ha