Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: What is this song's key and chord progression structure?

What is this song's key and chord progression structure?

Hey all, I'm just looking for a quick answer to this. All I want to know is what is this song's scale, and the chord progression structure (ii, IV, V, etc). I'm not very good with scales yet, and I've written this up, and need to know these things.

The chord progression is:

Am, C Major, D Major, E Major, Am, C Major, D Major, G Major.

Thanks for any and all replies.

P.S. A quick answer would be much appreciated!
    Please check out my band's site at Hidden Content

Tell me what you think!

Hi Wylde fan,

First a quick answer: You can say it is in G major key, ii-IV-V-VI-ii-IV-V-I

Now not so quick answer:

Coming up with some random chords does not usually turn up a song in one key. It probably turns in a mixture of keys, or an un-keyed song. If you think this progression as in the key G major, which is the best approximation to the 'laws', then you still have a dissonance in the E chord (the G# note). You can try to change E to Em to avoid it. But music has not to follow laws! You can still keep it that way, just try to use that dissonance wisely in your solo/melody.

My 2 cents, I am not a theory guru, so let's see what others will say on this
    "Beauty is the ultimate defense against complexity."
    - David Gelernter [Machine Beauty (1998)]