Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: I've got the chords, How do i find the scale?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

I've got the chords, How do i find the scale?

I have some theory knowledge but im having trouble with this thing...

I took a few chords for example that i know they belong to the Am scale (because i chose them from the scale).
    I chose Dm | C | Am (in this particular order, especialy because the root isn't played first)

Because the first note in the scale will be minor, the third will be major and the fourth will be minor also.

My question is, if i found these chords by hearing from some song, how can i know which scale
    they belong to without looking in every scale i know where the D will be a minor, the C will be a major and the A will be a minor.

Thanks,
    Roi.

Just take a look at the chord tones of each triad added together in put in scalar order. But you'll still need to know your scales.

Dm = D F A
    C (major) = C E G
    Am = A C E

Add them together = D E F G A ? C
    These notes (without knowing what kind of B you have) could come from either the:

F major scale = F G A Bb C D E F
    or it's relative minor
    D minor = D E F G A Bb C

or from the
    C major scale = C D E F G A B C
    or it's relative minor
    A minor = A B C D E F G A

Once you determine the key you just pick the corresponding scale.

Quote Originally Posted by rg12 View Post
    My question is, if i found these chords by hearing from some song, how can i know which scale
    they belong to without looking in every scale i know where the D will be a minor, the C will be a major and the A will be a minor.