PDA

View Full Version : Classical songs...

Simon3
01-09-2003, 09:06 PM
Hi,
I'm a rock/ shred metal guitarist but after listening to "Dee" by Randy Rhoads I would really like to learn some more classical playing. ( dont worry I'm not deserting rock :) )
I've learnt Dee so could any of you please tell me some good ( preferably sad) sad songs or some tab I should learn. If any of you have access to sound files of these songs please tell me.
Thanks v.much,
Si. ;)

Bizarro
01-10-2003, 06:37 AM
Try Malaguena, Bach's Bouree in Em (Dee borrows from this a tiny bit). Pachelbel's Canon in D is cool too...

I'm sure some others out there have more ideas. I can't seem to remember any of the names of these things anymore. It's been 15 years since my classical studies!

Schooligo
01-10-2003, 07:45 AM
"please tell me some good ( preferably sad) sad songs or some tab I should learn"

just as it can be hard to narrow it down to just a few Guitarists that inspire me, I'd like to name many songs that translate well to Classical Guitar & are part of the Repertoire.

a song that comes to mind when you ask for "sad songs" is

Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto In D Major especially the 2nd movement-Largo

Composed by Antonio Vivaldi written in regards to the Classical period.

This is one of the most popular of the Vivaldi concertos, as well as being a cool Classical Guitar piece.

Contains 3 Movements:

I. Allegro giusto

II. Largo - This is the sad melodic part

The Melodic slow movement has been widely recorded(I've heard a great version by Sharon Isbin) Used in movie scores & commercials

III. Allegro

Also I'd recommend for just Catchy sounding Guitar

Isaac Albeniz: Asturias(Leyenda)

Composed by Isaac Albeniz written in regards to the Romantic period.

a piano piece translates exceptionally well to Guitar & talk about Awesome sounding Guitar parts.

From a practical Guitarist point of view: